‘Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice’ launches character posters

Fresh from coming out with a well-received new trailer, Warner Bros. Pictures has now released the “Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice” character posters showing the trinity of Batman, Superman and Wonder Woman in hero poses. Check out the one-sheets below.

From director Zack Snyder comes “Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice,” starring Oscar winner Ben Affleck as Batman/Bruce Wayne and Henry Cavill as Superman/Clark Kent in the characters’ first big-screen pairing.

Fearing the actions of a god-like Super Hero left unchecked, Gotham City’s own formidable, forceful vigilante takes on Metropolis’s most revered, modern-day savior, while the world wrestles with what sort of hero it really needs. And with Batman and Superman at war with one another, a new threat quickly arises, putting mankind in greater danger than it’s ever known before.

Directed by Zack Snyder, the film also stars Oscar nominees Amy Adams as Lois Lane, Jesse Eisenberg as Lex Luthor, Diane Lane as Martha Kent, and Laurence Fishburne as Perry White; Oscar winners Jeremy Irons as Alfred, and Holly Hunter as Senator Finch; and Gal Gadot as Wonder Woman/Diana Prince.

Snyder directed from a screenplay written by Chris Terrio and David S. Goyer, based on characters from DC Comics, including Batman, created by Bob Kane with Bill Finger, and Superman, created by Jerry Siegel and Joe Shuster. The film is produced by Charles Roven and Deborah Snyder, with Wesley Coller, Geoff Johns and David S. Goyer serving as executive producers.

Opening across the Philippines in March 26, 2016, “Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice” is distributed worldwide by Warner Bros. Pictures, a Warner Bros. Entertainment Company.

Oscars 2016: Nine movies advance in Foreign Language category

Nine movies have advanced in the foreign-language category for Oscars 2016, the Academy said Thursday.

The following are the entries:

  1. Belgium, “The Brand New Testament,” Jaco Van Dormael, director;
  2. Colombia, “Embrace of the Serpent,” Ciro Guerra, director;
  3. Denmark, “A War,” Tobias Lindholm, director;
  4. Finland, “The Fencer,” Klaus Härö, director;
  5. France, “Mustang,” Deniz Gamze Ergüven, director;
  6. Germany, “Labyrinth of Lies,” Giulio Ricciarelli, director;
  7. Hungary, “Son of Saul,” László Nemes, director;
  8. Ireland, “Viva,” Paddy Breathnach, director;
  9. Jordan, “Theeb,” Naji Abu Nowar, director.

The 88th Academy Awards ceremony, presented by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (AMPAS), will honor the best films of 2015. It will take place on February 28, 2016, at the Dolby Theatre in Hollywood, California at 5:30 p.m. PST / 8:30 p.m. EST.