WINNERS: Cinemalaya Film Festival 2016

The 12th edition of Cinemalaya Philippine Independent Film Festival capped off with the awards night held at the CCP Main Theater, August 14, Sunday.

Here is the full list of winners of Cinemalaya 2016.

Best Film: Pamilya Ordinaryo
Best Director: Eduardo Roy, Jr. – Pamilya Ordinaryo
NETPAC Award: Pamilya Ordinaryo
Special Jury Prize: Mercury is Mine
Best Screenplay: Jason Paul Laxamana – Mercury is Mine
Best Actress: Hasmine Killip – Pamilya Ordinaryo
Best Actor: Tommy Abuel – Dagsin
Best Supporting Actress: (tie) Lollie Mara – Ang Bagong Pamilya ni Ponching & Elizabeth Oropesa – I America
Best Supporting Actor: Ensemble of Hiblang Abo – Jun Urbano, Lou Veloso, Leo Rialp, Nanding Josef
Best Cinematography: Tuos
Best Production Design: Tuos
Best Editing: Pamilya Ordinaryo
Best Original Musical Score: Tuos
Best Sound: Tuos
Audience Choice Award (Full-Length): Tuos
Best Short Film: Pektus
Best Director (Short Film): Mon Garilao – Fish Out of Water
NETPAC Award (Short Film): Ang Maangas, Ang Marikit, at Ang Makata
Special Jury Prize (Short Film): Fish Out of Water
Best Screenplay (Short Film): Isabel Quesada – Pektus
Audience Choice Award (Short Film): Forever Natin

WATCH: Featurette introduces men of ‘The Magnificent Seven’

The titular seven outlaws take a bow in a newly released featurette for Columbia Pictures’ action-adventure “The Magnificent Seven” which may be viewed below.

Meet the Bounty Hunter (Denzel Washington), the Gambler (Chris Pratt), the Sharpshooter (Ethan Hawke), the Hunter (Vincent D’Onofrio), the Assassin (Byung-Hun Lee), the Outlaw (Manuel Garcia-Rulfo) and the Warrior (Martin Sensmeier).
Director Antoine Fuqua brings his modern vision to a classic story in Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer Pictures’ and Columbia Pictures’ “The Magnificent Seven.”

With the town of Rose Creek under the deadly control of industrialist Bartholomew Bogue (Peter Sarsgaard), the desperate townspeople employ protection from seven outlaws, bounty hunters, gamblers and hired guns – Sam Chisolm (Denzel Washington), Josh Farraday (Chris Pratt), Goodnight Robicheaux (Ethan Hawke), Jack Horne (Vincent D’Onofrio), Billy Rocks (Byung-Hun Lee), Vasquez (Manuel Garcia-Rulfo), and Red Harvest (Martin Sensmeier). As they prepare the town for the violent showdown that they know is coming, these seven mercenaries find themselves fighting for more than money.

Opening across the Philippines on September 21, 2016, “The Magnificent Seven” is distributed by Columbia Pictures, local office of Sony Pictures Releasing International. #Mag7

WATCH: Darth Vader revealed in new trailer for ‘Rogue One: A Star Wars Story’

Darth Vader caps the new trailer of Lucasfilm’s “Rogue One: A Star Wars Story” which may be viewed below.

From Lucasfilm comes the first of the Star Wars standalone films, “Rogue One: A Star Wars Story,” an all-new epic adventure. In a time of conflict, a group of unlikely heroes band together on a mission to steal the plans to the Death Star, the Empire’s ultimate weapon of destruction. This key event in the Star Wars timeline brings together ordinary people who choose to do extraordinary things, and in doing so, become part of something greater than themselves.

“Rogue One: A Star Wars Story” is directed by Gareth Edwards and stars Felicity Jones, Diego Luna, Ben Mendelsohn, Donnie Yen, Mads Mikkelsen, Alan Tudyk, Riz Ahmed, with Jiang Wen and Forest Whitaker.

Kathleen Kennedy, Allison Shearmur and Simon Emanuel are producing, with John Knoll and Jason McGatlin serving as executive producers.

“Rogue One: A Star Wars Story” opens across the Philippines on December 15 and is distributed by Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures through Columbia Pictures.