WINNERS: Cinema One Originals Festival 2016

The Cinema One Originals film festival awards night was held at the Dolphy Theater Sunday, November 20.

Here’s the full list of winners of Cinema One Originals Festival 2016.

Best Film: 2 Cool 2 Be 4gotten

Special Jury Prize: Si Magdalola at ang mga Gago

Best Documentary: Forbidden Memory by Teng Mangansakan

Special Citation Award: People Power Bombshell: The Diary of Vietnam Rose

Best Actress: Jasmine Curtis-Smith, Baka Bukas

Best Actor: Rocky Salumbides, Lily

Best Screenplay: Jose Abdel Langit, Malinak Ya Labi

Best Director: Keith Deligero, Lily

Best Sound: Andrew Milallos, Baka Bukas

Best Music: Francis De Veyra, Tisay

Best Editing: Lily

Best Production Design: Michael Español, Tisay

Best Cinematography: Carlos Mauricio, 2 Cool 2 Be 4gotten

Best Supporting Actress: Natileigh Sitoy, Lily

Best Supporting Actor: Jameson Blake, 2 Cool 2 Be 4gotten

Best Short Film: Maria

Audience Choice Award: Baka Bukas

Champion Bughaw Award: Tisay

Cinema One Minute Student Film: No Seguir

GUIDE: Cinema One Originals Festival 2016

Now on its 12th year, Cinema One Originals Festival 2016 will run from November 14 to 22 at Trinoma, Gateway Cineplex, Greenhills Theater Mall, Glorietta 4, and Cinematheque Centre Manila. This year’s tagline is “Ano’ng Tingin Mo.”


Schedules are subject to change. Check on cinema schedules for confirmation.



The following 7 finalists for the full-length feature film category were each granted a P3-million seed:

  1. Lily by Keith Deligero
  2. Every Room is a Planet by Malay Javier
  3. Baka Bukas by Samantha Lee
  4. Si Magdalola at ang mga Gago by Jules Katanyag
  5. Malinak Ya Labi by Jose Abdel Langit
  6. 2 Cool 2 Be 4gotten by Petersen Vargas
  7. Tisay by Alfonso Torre


The following 3 finalists for the documentary feature film category were each granted a P1.5-million seed:

  1. Diary of Vietnam Rose (People Power Bombshell) by John Torres
  2. Piding by Paolo Picones and Gym Lumbera
  3. Forbidden Memory by Teng Mangansakan


  1. Manang Biring by Carl Joseph Papa
  2. Hamog by Ralston Jover
  3. Miss Bulalacao by Ara Chawdhury
  4. Dahling Nick by Sari Dalena
  5. Mga Rebeldeng May Kaso by Raymond Red
  6. The Comeback by Ivan Payawal
  7. Bukod Kang Pinagpala by Sheron Dayoc
  8. Dayang Asu by Bor Ocampo
  9. Baka Siguro Yata by Joel Ferrer


  1. The Untamed by Amat Escalante
  2. Elle by Paul Verhoeven
  3. Neruda by Pablo Larraín
  4. I am Not Madame Bovary by Xiaogang Feng
  5. Frantz by François Ozon
  6. Graduation by Cristian Mungiu
  7. The Salesman by Ashdar Fajardi
  8. Slack Bay by Bruno Dumont
  9. It’s Only the End of the World by Xavier Dolan
  10. Embrace of the Serpent by Ciro Guerrera
  11. Swiss Army Man by Dan Kwan and Daniel Scheinart
  12. I, Daniel Blake by Ken Loach
  13. Fuocoammare by Gianfranco Rossi
  14. De Palma by Noah Baumbach & Jake Paltrow
  15. Close Encounters with Vilmos Zsigmond by Pierre Filmon
  16. The Wailing by Na Hong-Jin
  17. Goodnight Mommy by Veronica Franz & Severin Fiala
  18. The Witch by Robert Eggers
  19. Creepy by Kiyoshi Kurosawa


  1. Tatlong Taong Walang Diyos by Mario O’Hara
  2. Nagalit ang Buwan sa Haba ng Gabi by Danny Zialcita
  3. Cain at Abel by Lino Brocka
  4. Pagdating sa Dulo by Ishmael Bernal


  1. Ang Babaeng Humayo by Lav Diaz
  2. Salvage by Sherad Sanchez

Cinema One Originals Festival 2016 names seven full-length feature finalists

Now on its 12th year, Cinema One Originals Festival has announced the list of seven full-length feature film finalists that will be given a P3-M grant each.

Here are the finalists for the full-length feature film category:

  1. LILY by Keith Deligero
  2. EVERY ROOM IS A PLANET by Malay Javier
  3. BAKA BUKAS PWEDE NA by Samantha Lee
  4. SI MAGDALOLA AT MGA GAGO by Jules Katanyag
  5. MALINAK LA’Y LABI by Jose Abdel Langit
  6. DOS MESTIZOS by Petersen Vargas
  7. TISAY by Alfonso Torre

The earlier announced documentary feature finalists are the following:

  2. PIDING by Paolo Picones and Gym Lumbera
  3. FORBIDDEN MEMORY by Teng Mangansakan

The 12th Cinema One Originals Festival is scheduled to run in November 2016.

The deliberation was processed by Ronald Arguelles, Teddy Co, Rico Gonzales, Kathleen Pador, Jade Castro, Roni Velasco, Lilit Reyes, Jinky Laurel, Oggs Cruz, Sherad Anthony Sanchez, and Richard Bolisay.