WINNERS: Metro Manila Film Festival (MMFF) 2017

Here is the complete list of winners of the 43rd Metro Manila Film Festival as announced December 27, Wednesday night at Kia Theater in Araneta Center, Cubao, Quezon City.

Best Actress in a Leading Role: Joanna Ampil, ANG LARAWAN
Best Actor in a Leading Role: Derek Ramsay, ALL OF YOU
1st Best Picture: ANG LARAWAN
2nd Best Picture: SIARGAO
3rd Best Picture: ALL OF YOU
Special Jury Prize: Coco Martin
Posthumous Special Jury Prize: National Artist Nick Joaquin, ANG LARAWAN
People’s Choice Award (Full-Length Film): THE REVENGER SQUAD

Best Supporting Actress: Jasmine Curtis-Smith, SIARGAO
Best Supporting Actor: Edgar Allan Guzman, DEADMA WALKING

Best Child Performer: Baste, MEANT TO BEH

Gatpuno Antonio J. Villegas Cultural Award: ANG LARAWAN
Best Director: Paul Soriano, SIARGAO
Best Screenplay: ALL OF YOU
Fernando Poe Jr. Memorial Award for Excellence: ANG PANDAY
Special Award of Recognition: National Artist Bienvenido Lumbera

Male Celebrity of the Night: Derek Ramsay
Female Celebrity of the Night:  Erich Gonzales

Best Cinematography: Odyssey Flores, SIARGAO
Best Editing: Mark Victor, SIARGAO
Best Production Design: ANG LARAWAN
Best in Visual Effects: ANG PANDAY

Best Original Theme Song: ‘Alon’ by Hale, SIARGAO
Best Musical Score: Ryan Cayabyab, ANG LARAWAN
Best Sound: SIARGAO

Children’s Choice Award: ANG PANDAY

People’s Choice Award (Short Film): NOEL

WATCH: All trailers for 8 entries of Metro Manila Film Festival 2017

The Metro Manila Film Festival (MMFF) executive committee has officially announced the last four films to complete the 8 entries to the 2017 edition. The announcement was done this afternoon at Club Filipino in San Juan.

The four entries selected from finished films are the following:

Deadma Walking

from T-Rex Entertainment, directed by Julius Alfonso, and starring Joross Gamboa and Edgar Allan-Guzman


from TEN17P Productions, directed by Paul Soriano and starring Jericho Rosales and Erich Gonzales

Haunted Forest

from Regal Entertainment, directed by Ian Loreños and starring Jane Oineza

Ang Larawan

from Culturtrain Musicat Productions, directed by Loy Arcenas and starring Rachel Alejandro and Joanna Ampil

The other four entries to be selected were announced back in July. The first four movies chosen based on script submissions are the following:

Ang Panday

from CCM Creative Productions Inc., directed by and starring Coco Martin

All of You

from Quantum and MJM Productions, directed by Dan Villegas, and starring Jennylyn Mercado and Derek Ramsay

Gandarrapiddo: The Revenger Squad

from Star Cinema and Viva Films, directed by Joyce Bernal, and starring Vice Ganda, Daniel Padilla, and Pia Wurtzbach

Meant to Beh

from Octo Arts Films, directed by Chris Martinez, and starring Vic Sotto and Dawn Zulueta


The MMFF 2017 short film entries to be attached respectively to each of the eight full-length features are the following:

  • Anino
  • Anong Nangyari Kay Nicanor Dante?
  • Black Market
  • Crab Mentality
  • Gunita
  • Isang Gabi (One Night)
  • Kinalimutan Natin ang mga Bata
  • Noel

The selection of entries were based on “both artistic excellence and audience appeal that can equate to more benefits to its target industry beneficiaries,” according to the MMFF execom.

The 43rd edition of the Metro Manila Film Festival starts Christmas day, December 25.

MMFF 2017 reveals four submitted-script finalists

The 42nd edition of the Metro Manila Film Festival (MMFF) is up to new changes with the selection divided into two categories: 4 script submissions and 4 finished films, adding up to a total of 8 official entries to be screened at the festival starting December 25.

Here are the first four official entries selected from the 26 scripts submitted this year.

  • ANG PANDAY by Rodel Nacianceno
    Lead: Coco Martin
  • ALMOST IS NOT ENOUGH by Dan Villegas
    Lead: Jennylyn Mercado & Jericho Rosales
  • THE REVENGERS by Joyce Bernal
    Lead: Vica Ganda, Daniel Padilla & Pia Alonzo Wurtzbach
  • LOVE TRAPS #FamilyGoals by Antonio Reyes
    Lead: Vic Sotto & Dawn Zulueta

The criteria in choosing these titles were as follows:

40% artistic excellence
40% commercial appeal
10% promotion of Filipino cultural and historical values
10% global appeal

The remaining 4 slots will be given to selected finished films. Announcement is on November 17.

Interested filmmakers are still encourafed to submit duly accomplished application forms and complete requirements to the MMFF Secretariat until October 2 for early birds, and until October 30 for the regular submission.

For the short film category, 8 short films will be announced on September 29. Deadline of submission is on September 1.