Nora Aunor takes central seat in MMFF entry ‘Kabisera’

Family drama film Kabisera is headlined by the Grand Dame of Asian Cinema, Nora Aunor. The much-anticipated MMFF comeback of the one and only Superstar is joined by award-winning actors Ricky Davao, JC De Vera, Jason Abalos, Victor Neri and Perla Bautista. Also joining the cast are newcomers RJ Agustin, Ronwaldo Martin (brother of Coco Martin) and Alex San Agustin.

Kabisera is a film about a tightly knit family whose lives fall apart after a tragic incident. Mercy, Nora Aunor’s character takes the central seat (Kabisera) to hold her family together. The film will be Nora Aunor’s return to the annual Metro Manila Film Festival where she won the most number of awards in the past 42 years.

Kabisera is produced by Firestarters Manila Productions, the same studio that produced the award-winning film 1ST KO SI 3RD together with Silver Story Entertainment.

The MMFF Screening Committee citation emphasized the film’s quality in choosing KABISERA as part of the magic 8:

“A sure, steady directorial hand, conscientious script and effective cinematography are matched by the lead actors’ faultless performances.

“This taut and tragic drama will disturb viewers with its stark chronology of what confronts us daily in an often oppressive urban milieu, with the final imagery delivering a subtle footnote to our awareness of the proper place of vaunted justice in our society.”

Produced by Firestarters Manila Productions and Silver Story Entertainment, “Kabisera” opens on December 25, 2016 in Philippine cinemas as an official entry to the Metro Manila Film Festival.

WATCH: MMFF 2016 official trailers

With the newly revamped Metro Manila Film Festival comes a surprising Magic 8 without the usual stars that Filipinos have gone accustomed to seeing during Christmas season.

The following are the official trailers for the 8 entries to MMFF 2016:

Ang Babae Sa Septic Tank 2 #ForeverIsNotEnough

Directed by Marlon Rivera
Starring Eugene Domingo, Kean Cipriano, Jericho Rosales, Cai Cortez, Joel Torre

Die Beautiful

Directed by Jun Robles Lana
Starring Paolo Ballesteros, Joel Torre, Gladys Reyes, Luis Alandy, Albie Casiño, Christian Bables, Inah De Belen, IC Mendoza, Cedrick Juan


Directed by Real Florido and Arturo San Agustin
Starring Nora Aunor, Ricky Davao, JC de Vera, Jason Abalos, Victor Neri



Directed by Alvin Yapan
Starring Irma Adlawan, Mercedes Cabral, Joem Bascon, Sandino Martin

Saving Sally

Directed by Awid Liongoren
Starring Rhian Ramos, Enzo Marcos, TJ Trinidad

Seklusyon by Erik Matti, starring Ronnie Alonte, Dominic Roque, Neil Ryan Sese, Lou Veloso, Rhed Bustamante, Elora Espano, Phoebe Walker

Sunday Beauty Queen

Directed by Baby Ruth Villarama
Starring Hazel Perdid, Maylyn Jacob, Cherry Bretania, Leo Selomenio

Vince & Kath & James

Directed by Ted Boborol
Starring Joshua Garcia, Julia Barretto, Ronnie Alonte, Maris Racal

The 42nd Metro Manila Film Festival will run from December 25 up to the second week of January.