Cinemalaya 2017 full-length film finalists announced

The 10 finalists of Cinemalaya 2017: The 13th Philippine Independent Film Festival were announced by the Competition Director Mel Chionglo at the Cinemalaya 2016 awarding ceremonies last August 14 at the CCP Main Theater.

The following are the finalists of Cinemalaya 2017 main competition:

  1. Alberto “Treb” Monteras II — “Respeto”
  2. Cenón Obispo Palomares — “Unang Patak ng Ulan sa Buwan ng Mayo”
  3. Zig Dulay — “Bagahe”
  4. Crisanto “Sonny” Calvento — “Nabubulok at Hindi Nabubulok”
  5. Eduardo Roy Jr. — “Lola Igna”
  6. Joseph Israel Laban — “Ang Mga Baconaua sa Panahon ng Subasko”
  7. Mes de Guzman — “Ang Pamilyang Hindi Lumuluha”
  8. Nerissa “NP” Picadizo — “Requited”
  9. Perry Escaño — “Ang Guro Kong Hindi Marunong Magbasa”
  10. Thop Nazareno — “Pacboy”

The 10 finalists were already informed as early as February 2016 so as to have a longer period of time for preparation. They have now inked their contracts with the country’s popular and prestigious local independent film festival.

More than a hundred sequence treatment entries were submitted last year and the list was cut to 25 semi-finalists. The 25 filmmakers were then asked to submit the full script of their entries. Pitching was done in the presence of the film festival’s Selection Committee.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Comments (



%d bloggers like this: