RECAP: Everything you need to know before watching ‘Avengers: Infinity War’


  • The Sokovia accords are passed in Captain America: Civil War which will put the Avengers under the United Nations panel. Stark thinks that they need the government oversight after the death of many civilians under their watch but Rogers feels like they will be puppets of the government if they do so. Meanwhile, a brainwashed Bucky bombs a convention in Vienna killing T’Challa/Black Panther (Chadwick Boseman)’s father. This puts a bigger divide among the avengers as Stark’s side thinks he is dangerous and must be taken dead or alive while Roger’s side wants to protect Bucky as his friend is obviously under the influence of someone. #TeamIronMan goes head-to-head with #TeamCap in an epic airport showdown. T’Challa captures the mastermind Barton Zemo who plots to exact revenge on the Avengers. In a mid-credits scene, Barnes, granted asylum in Wakanda, chooses to return to cryogenic sleep until a cure for his brainwashing is found.
  • In Doctor Strange, neurosurgeon Stephen Strange (Benedict Cumberbatch) finds himself in Kamar-Taj where he discovers the hidden world of magic and alternate dimensions. Strange learns that Earth is protected from threats of the other dimensions by the shields generated in Sanctums located in New York City, London and Hong Kong. With the guidance of Mordo, Wong (Benedict Wong) and the Ancient One, he quickly progresses with his craft and learns to manipulate time using the “Eye of Agamotto”, a necklace containing the “time infinity stone”. He uses it to send evil sorcerer Kaecilius and his master Dormammu away from Earth. In a mid-credits scene, Strange helps Thor in the search of his father Odin.
  • Star-Lord learns that he is actually a half-human and half-Celestial in Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2. The Guardians along with the now Baby Groot meets Star-Lord’s biological father, Ego, an ancient Celestial who planted seedlings on multiple planets in the hopes of transforming them into new extensions of himself. With the help of Ego’s empathic servant Mantis (Pom Klementieff), the Guardians are able to obliterate Ego and his planet. Gamora makes amends with her step sister Nebula (Karen Gillan) and the latter takes on a personal mission to kill their father Thanos. In the mid-credits scene, Baby Groot has now grown into a teenager.
  • Not to be confused with the previous Spider-Man adaptations starring Tobey Maguire and Andrew Garfield, Spider-Man: Homecoming plays after the events of Civil War. Young Peter Parker (Tom Holland) begins his amateur crime-fighting career all while trying to live the life of a typical teenager. With the help of his best friend Ned (Jacob Batalon), he stops Adrian Toomes/Vulture from hijacking a transport plane containing the weapons of the Avengers. In return, Peter’s mentor Tony Stark, offers him to be a full-time Avenger, to which he declines in favor of being a neighborhood superhero.
  • In Thor: Ragnarok, a dying Odin warns his children Thor and Loki that his passing will allow his first-born child, Hela, to take over Asgard. True enough, Hela is released after, crashes Thor’s Mjolnir and throws him into the garbage planet Sakaar where he gets a new haircut and teams up with Valkyrie (Tessa Thompson) and the Hulk (revealed to be imprisoned by the Grandmaster). Also with the help of Heimdall (Idris Elba), Thor is able to evacuate the surviving Asgardians before Hela and planet Asgard are obliterated into dust. During the battle, Thor loses his eye in a similar fashion with his father and Loki stumbles at the Tesseract. In a mid-credits scene, Thor and Loki’s vessel are intercepted by a larger spacecraft.
  • And finally in Black Panther, T’Challa takes up the succession as the King of Wakanda after the death of his father. His nemesis, Killmonger, plans to overthrow him and use the vibranium reserves to liberate the black race in a barbaric way. With the help of his fellow Wakandans including his tech-whiz sister Shuri (Letitia Wright) and his personal bodyguard Okoye (Danai Gurira), T’Challa is able to defeat Killmonger and his forces. In a mid-credits scene, T’Challa reveals Wakanda’s true nature to the world and in a post-credits scene, Shuri helps Bucky Barnes with his recuperation.

READ MORE: Six best things about Black Panther

In summary, here’s a quick recap of the whereabouts of the six Infinity Stones:

  1. Tesseract/Space Stone – Either destroyed along with Asgard or Loki took it in the end of Ragnarok. (We all know the obvious answer to that).
  2. Aether/Reality Stone – In The Collector’s possession.
  3. Eye of Agamotto/Time Stone – In Doctor Strange’s possession.
  4. Orb/Power Stone – Held for safekeeping by the Nova Corps.
  5. Scepter/Mind Stone – Still attached to Vision’s forehead.
  6. Soul Stone – Its location and abilities remain to be unknown. Fans speculate that it is in Wakanda, the reason why its citizens can speak with their deceased ancestors.

And with that, you are now fully equipped to watch Infinity War and perhaps even more knowledgeable than the Mad Titan himself. *wink* See you in theaters this coming April 25!

2 responses to “RECAP: Everything you need to know before watching ‘Avengers: Infinity War’”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: